Captured Scene: Old Bridge Mostar, Bosnia and Herzegovina

Bosnia and Herzegovina
Stari Most, or Old Bridge is a 16th century Ottoman bridge that crosses River Neretva. It was destroyed in 1993 during the Croats and Bosnian War. Then reconstructed in 2003 and opened to the public in 2004. This little quiet city is where I feel so fortunate to meet the kindest people in the Balkans. Mostar people are the best. Strangers who would walk with me to show where my hostel was. A family run hostel who cooked me nice dinner with good wine. Random strangers at the Old Town who gave me medicine when I catch cold and flu and let me rest in their shop. Pharmacy who did not let me pay because I have no Marka. Strangers turned friends who gave me special presents on the day before I leave. The hostel manager who drove me to Sarajevo… The people in Mostar has showed me what genuine kindness truly means. There is a “star” that sparkle in each of them. It shines bright and you see them not just in their eyes but in their actions and deeds. I was deeply moved by Mostar people kindness and exceptional hospitality. Fvala Mostar! ❤

Kindness is my only guiding star.
In its light, I sail a straight route.
I have my motto written on my sail:
“To Live in Love.” -St Therese of Lisieux

3 thoughts on “Captured Scene: Old Bridge Mostar, Bosnia and Herzegovina

    1. Yes Melai, Herzegovinian people are extremely helpful and their hospitality is super.
      Definitely Hostel David! The best hostel in Mostar 🙂

  1. Nice to find your blog, Mafey! Sounds like you met some lovely people in Mostar. I was only there on a day trip but it’s a fascinating place, maybe I’ll return some day. Hopefully you’ll get to post some more updates from your recent travels.

Leave a comment