Books That Accompanied My Day-To-Day Traveling (My Daily Commute)

...

I think of life as a good book. The further you get into it, the more it begins to make sense.” –Harold Kushner

I’d like to view life that way. Perhaps everything will make sense as I go further. Few more sleeps and my daily routine will change into no routine at all. Everything will be different. Is it going to be a drastic change? I guess not.

It still has not sink in into my mind that I am leaving very soon and that I will be embarking into a path not known to me. It will be one of those many firsts in my life again. That perhaps makes me wake up in the middle of the night feeling myself both anxious and excited at the same time. Sometimes, it’s more of anxiety. Because I don’t know what to expect and the kind of adventure waiting for me out there.

Even if I am not sure where I am going, I trust that the path is leading me to where I am meant to be. So I let things unfold on its own. Before my very eyes.

Friends, I wish to share the books I have read from last year up to this date. I realized I’ve read more than I usually do. I could definitely account it to my long daily commute. Traveling from home to work takes me at least one hour to one-and-a-half hour. I’d like to give myself a big hug and a warm pat to my shoulder for braving the early wake up to make it on time at work. Even if it took me a year to adjust (ouch!) Apparently this is one of my obvious weakness – not being a morning person. And for acquiring MORE patience getting myself used to the uber crowded trains and buses in the peak hours of the morning and after work. If you’re quite unlucky you might catch a frequent train breakdown. Not to get myself be bothered by daily annoyances, I shift my focus to reading books while at the train and bus. Where majority of the daily commuters have their eyes fixed on their smart phones I get extremely hooked flipping the pages of the book(s) that accompanied my day-to-day traveling.

You may check on whichever sparks your curiosity. Here it goes:
2014
1) Manuscript Found in Accra by Paulo Coelho
2) Aleph by Paulo Coelho
3) Walong Diwata ng Pagkahulog by Edgar Calabia Samar (a Filipino fiction beautifully written. Page turner. Exceptional read. I read novel in my lingua franqa once in while to hone my writing skills. I always dream of composing a post to be completely in Filipino, without a single word in English. To this day, it remains a challenge to me).
4) Istanbul Memories and the City by Orhan Pamuk
5) The Millionaire’s Secrets by Mark Fisher
6) The Mark by Paul Yadao
7) IQ Power-Up 101 Ways to Sharpen Your Mind by Ron Bracey
8) What Dreams May Come by Richard Matheson (I simply love it. Highly recommended. If you are open minded and curious what happens after life. Aside from the love story of inseparable couple, it discusses a wide variety of issues that concerns humanity. It will make you challenge your dominant perspectives and reevaluate your beliefs and values).
9) Longganisa by Bob Ong
10) The Secrets of Happy Families by Bruce Feiler
11) How to Prosper (Learn a Simple 5-Point System to Change Your Financial Life Forever) by Bo Sanchez
12) You Can Make Your Own Miracle by Napoleon Hill
13) Adultery by Paulo Coelho
14) The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho (re-read for the 3rd time)
15) The Pocket by Ken Wilber

2015
1) The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini (I confess to be a big fan of Hosseini now. I have to stop reading for a time being to allow myself time to digest everything about this incredible novel that made me cry a river! I hope I can visit Afghanistan one day. Get involve with projects working with children or women empowerment). 
2) Buti Pa Ang Roma May Papa by Doreen Capili
3) A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini
4) The $100 Start Up (Fire Your Boss, Do What You Love And Work Less To Live More) by Chris Guillebeau
5) A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare
6) Les Miserables by Victor Hugo
7) What’s It All About (Philosophy and the Meaning of Life) by Julian Baggini
8) Things A Little Bird Told Me by Biz Stone (It’s an easy read. Funny, witty, practical. Although I was still not convince to create a twitter account after reading this😛, I commend Biz ideas for being very communicative. Owning mistakes and being transparent to customers is the secret of building a lasting relationship. If any organization adopt this in the corporate environment, it will create its magic. I think he has an excellent Public Relations too. His creativity, being generous, humorous, not afraid to get out of his comfort zone, setting his own rules are some of his qualities that I can truly relate).
9) Siddhartha Gautama (The Life of the Buddha) retold by R.N. Pillai
10) The World Without Us by Alan Weisman (currently reading)
11) The Happiness Trap Pocketbook by Russ Harris and Bev Aisbett (currently reading)

How about you? What have you read so far? Or any book that has had immense influence in your life? Share it!🙂

Happy weekend friends! Looking forward for BRIGHTER days ahead!🙂 AND oh Happy Father’s Day to all the loving Dad out there!❤

2 thoughts on “Books That Accompanied My Day-To-Day Traveling (My Daily Commute)

  1. hi sis! kamusta na? bakit di ko makita ang maftravelgraphy na site  mo? tc & Godbless. dito si madir sa lucena pero painfanta na din.. thanks & Godbless..    

    • Sis!!! Sinorpresa mo ko, pinatawa ng husto at ginulat. Hindi mo talaga makita si maftravelgraphy pero sa lagay na yan nakapag comment ka a hahaha (as in ROFL). Thanks for making my day dear sister! :)) Lahat tayo me moment. BETTER days are coming. Say hi to Madir – hugs&kisses. Uy, WAG mo papabasa ke Madir mga sinusulat ko dito okay, deal yan ha. Don’t let her know about my worries. Ayaw kong madiskubre ni Madir na me iba pa kong talento😉 wink wink. Thanks for (accidentally??) dropping by and for making me HAPPY😀. Ingat kayo. 143!❤

Leave a Reply

