A Note on Safety of Personal Belongings  

_Stolen Pouch_ But why? I need to know why.

A (Lost) Stolen Pouch

As I write this I can feel my head going to explode anytime. I am extremely  frustrated since last night up until I lodge a Police Report this morning – reporting about my lost valuable documents (stolen is such a harsh word). In this post, I refer “personal belongings” to important documents that you  usually carry with you on  a daily basis, a legal document/ stuff that gives you the right to live in a particular country while concomitantly allows you to make a living.

A brown color coach pouch that contains my company’s ID, medical card, UOB debt card and working pass (work visa) along with few hundreds Singapore dollars, some Euros and Malaysian ringgits currencies. Plus name cards and a thin tiny prayer booklet from The Feast.

…. …. …

Yes, Singapore has a reputation of being one of the safest country in the whole world. And I would not contest on this. Yet at the same time, the Singapore Police anti-crime campaign is ringing out loud: “Low Crime Does Not (necessarily) Mean No Crime (at all).” In fact, I recall after living here close to eight years, four bicycles were stolen from me. Two were steal day time at the MRT station bicycle parking area. One was just outside my flat, needless to say, fully padlocked. Indeed, “Low Crime Does Not Mean No Crime.”

… … …

Thursday is a laundry day for me. Unless I have prior scheduled meet up, I head home straight after work.

After having two consecutive meetings in the afternoon, heavy rains poured in. A colleague gave me a lift and drop me at the nearby bus stop. As soon as I reached home, I put my laundry in the washing machine. Set my alarm for 30 minutes nap (that was extended for an hour). Feeling hungry when I wake up, I was craving for Hokkien Mee. After hanging my clothes I was in a hurry to take supper. AND. There was nowhere to find my pouch! I have no sgd cash with me, nor card to withdraw money. I quickly checked my other two bags and throw out everything. The pens, highlighter, post it pad,  Indonesian rupiah flown out and nothing else left. My heart started to pound, fast. I was in trepidation. I messaged a few colleagues asked if they find any pouch in my table. As far as my memory is concern I left it either in my table or maybe in the drawer. That morning I’ve written down my expenses (groceries, taxi fares, money I’ve sent overseas, ez-link card top up). Thank goodness at least my ez link card which I just topped up a 100-dollar bill was spared since I’m using it as a bookmark for the book I am currently reading.

That day, I didn’t go out for lunch nor did I go anywhere after work. That gave me an assurance I left the pouch at the office.

While a kind-hearted colleague offered to drive all the way to my place,lend me some money and took my key to check the office. I refuse at first since I’m pretty sure it’s there I can get it the next day. But maybe he noticed the urgency. I was able to have my late dinner and after sometime my phone rang, my colleague saying he didn’t find anything in my table nor in the drawer.  I suddenly lost my craving for Hokkien Mee and decided to go back home. I have no plans but a spontaneous room clean up in the middle of the night took place. No pouch in sight. I call the customer care hotline to block my cards. I hardly slept. Just imagine the process to go through to have all these new cards again. Somehow, there was little hope left. But it’s all gone when the next day, I have not seen any shadow of my precious pouch. And as if to make things worse, the office CCTV camera was not functioning at that time. My Spanish colleague saw me surprised coming to work early. We took the same bus and I’ve shared my piece of story.

… … …

In times like this, staying optimistic is one of the hardest thing to do. I’m attempting to look for lessons that this current misfortune is teaching me.

1) No matter how extra cautious you are, inevitable thing happens. Whether I treat it as an accident or incident, I have a feeling that it was done intentionally. I’m trying to get over it in a healthy manner. Though it takes a lot of purposeful effort to do so.

2) We may not have control about a myriad of events but we have control over ourselves. When I think of whoever have done this, I wanted to curse the person. Yell words that are uncalled for. There could be an eerie way for me to find out who have done such despicable act. But I feel it is morally right to let “Karma” take its course. As for the authority, as much as I want to express my thoughts, my logic says it is best to keep mum.

3) No one can ever rub you off success so long you know your worth and value as a person. If I look at another angle or from a viewpoint of having someone get jealous of wherever I am or whatever I am capable of doing and becoming, is it human nature to grow envy of other’s successes while you perpetually reap the fruits of being a ‘lifeaholic‘? Only insecure people takes pride on that.

4) Some uneventful situation takes place to send us message. I take it as a clear-cut signal that it’s time for me to go. While my mind had struggled for the (impulsive) decision I’ve made, my heart is at peace knowing that it was the right thing to do. I am currently serving my notice period and I can’t wait for the last day to end.

5) I invoke blessing for you who had stole it. Even if your uncivilized action had angered me. I wish it was only the money. If you badly needed Singapore dollars, some Euros or you’re planning a visit to JB and fall short of Malaysian ringgits. If you’re dying to have a coach pouch because you are incapable of buying one. Even if it has a sentimental value as it was a gift from a very good friend. Have it all if it makes you happy. I just wish you have returned my valuable documents!!!

2244 hours @Home, Singapore 150515
A Post Note to My Dear Readers,
Shall this post comes too strong with sarcasm, I seek your kind understanding.
I have to let it out.
Does it help to make the loads lighter? Right now, I would never know.
It does NOT aim to spread negativity to the world.
Other than to serve as a wake up call.
Because I, may be sleeping too.
Thanks.
Lovelots, Mafey

2 thoughts on “A Note on Safety of Personal Belongings  

  1. I got a heavy heart after reading your post Mafey. Whoever that person grab your precious pouch he will be rewarded with equivalent Karma.

    Things happen for a reason. I have that same ill feeling when my wallet was stolen on my bed. Though I lost some handful of cash but he’d spared my PRC card, ATM’s and Important ID’s by returning on the garbage trash.

    It taught me a lesson, don’t trust anyone but yourself.🙂

    • Hi Sky,

      Thank you for your empathy🙂.

      From what had happen to you it is clear that the culprit only wants your money. Glad that you’re able to find it and that your valuable documents were returned to you.

      In my case, I can’t help but look at the lessons I’ve mentioned in #3 and #4. Apparently, one need not study law to look at the obvious. Parang hindi lang pera yung interes. Andami kasing nangyari last week. It was such a helluva week.

      Salamat sa pagbabahagi at pagbisita. I relate to the lesson that it taught you!

Leave a Reply

