India Tourist Visa On Arrival (VOA)

Terminal 3 New Delhi Indira Gandhi International Airport, International Arrivals

Terminal 3 New Delhi Indira Gandhi International Airport, International Arrivals

Immigration Officer: Are you a Diplomat? Coz you are queuing at the Diplomat line!
Me: Oh. I wish I am!

And we both laugh. That breaks the silence. I laughed nervously.

Effective, 01 January 2011, Filipinos can apply visa on arrival on various designated international airports of New Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata and Chennai. Citizens of the countries of Cambodia, Finland, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Luxembourg, Myanmar, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore and Vietnam are eligible for Tourist Visa On Arrival.

The requirements are as follows:

1) Passport with six (6) months validity;

2) Two (2) passport size photographs with white background;

3) Duly completed Application Form; and

4) Visa Fee of 60 USD

After waiting for about an hour, I was granted a Visa On Arrival, 30 days, single entry. Thereafter, the Visa Officer asked me to queue at the Diplomat section, that’s whyπŸ™‚

I did’t expect it was going to be as easy as that to get Visa on Arrival. I was only asked about my travel purpose and whether I am traveling alone, which the officer while tilting his head, said – “Brave girl!” I smiled shyly and said “thank you! Back in Singapore, at Changi aiport, I was asked about aΒ document called – Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) which I told them – I honestly have no knowledge of. Later, they just let me go.

Look. Terminal 3 is actually beautiful!Β Welcome to India!πŸ™‚

15 thoughts on “India Tourist Visa On Arrival (VOA)

Leave a Reply

