Santorini, Cyclades, Greece: Among World’s Top Islands Destination

Santorini1 by Mafey!Summer of August 2012.  It was the time I had the chance to make it to Athens. Efharisto to my Greek friends. This journey would have not completed if I would not visit my dream honeymoon destination ;-), the very famous Santorini Island :-). Santorini is simply one of the most romantic place I have ever been. Dreamier than Paris nor Milan. It  has  a bewitching charm. I have to concur it’s a place for lovers, for couple, for honeymooners. It was one of those occasions I wish I am with someone special 😉 I can tag along with to share the beauty of this magnificent island that is beyond words to explain :-D.

Oia is the most popular point of destination in Santorini where you can capture a breathtaking sunset. It is in the very north part of the island. But equally worth to visit is the black sand beach located in Perissa at the southern most part of Santorini. This is where I stayed – Katerina and John Guesthouse which I highly recommend. This is the cheapest place you can have in town, very good value for money while at the same time the service they offer is not being sacrificed. 8-10euros/night for dorm and private room is 15-20 euros. They have a private pool and a veranda adjacent to the pool providing free  wifi access. The place is walking distance to the black sand beach.  And John, the owner offers a free pick up back and forth to the port. Although, the wife doesn’t speak much English, she is amiable and always ready to offer any help.

Without much ado, here are some photos I never get tired of looking, photos that would right away transport me to travel in memory. Every time work would offer too much stress to bear, I find this effective in winding down :-).Santorini2 by Mafey!Santorini3 by Mafey!Santorini4 by Mafey!Santorini5 by Mafey!Santorini6 by Mafey!Santorini7 by Mafey!

A snap of me with the backdrop of sun winding down. Efharisto to the handsome photographer below who offered to take me photo and in return I stole him a snap shot hahaha
A snap of me with the backdrop of sun winding down. Efharisto to the handsome photographer below who offered to take me photo and in return I stole him a snapshot hahaha

Santorini9 stole snap by Mafey!

And another snap from phone! hihihi
And another snap from phone! hihihi

Santorini's Caldera by Maf-travelgraphySantorini picturesque Oia by Maf-travelgraphySantorini donkeys by Maf-travelgraphySantorini, Oia by MaftravelgraphySantorini black sand beach by Maf-travelgraphyBy the way, it’s an 8-hour super relaxing journey via ferry (Blue Star Ferries) from Athens to Santorini that cost 37.50 euros 1-way trip. The ferry stops in Paros and Naxos  which are superb islands as well.

And here are some Greek phrases I still remember which you may find useful when you visit Greece:

Kalimera – Good morning

Hello/ Goodbye – Giassou

Thank you – Efharisto

You’re welcome – Parakalo

Yes – Ne

No – Ochi

What is your name? – Posse lene? 🙂 

How much? – Poso einai? 🙂

 

Hope you had fun!Oia, Santorini by Maf-travelgraphy

 

XOXO

Maftraveling-through-photography 😉

8 thoughts on “Santorini, Cyclades, Greece: Among World’s Top Islands Destination

  1. I visited Santorini a couple years and I completely agree, it is a beautiful and charming island! Great photos 🙂

  2. Your pictures are gorgeous! One small correction though, “posse lene” in Greek means “what’s your name”, “how much” is “poso einai”. Not that it matters anyway, but just in case someone wants to use it. 🙂

    1. Efharisto queenofspades! I appreciate your correction. It matters of course :). Will correct it once I get to the dashboard. Thanks for dropping by! 😀

Leave a comment