Singapore Off The Beaten Path: Trek to Bukit Timah Nature Reserve

photo from Rosa Haswani1Finally, one of of those bucket list in my Singapore Off The Beaten Path: A Trek to Bukit Timah Nature Reserve.

Bukit Timah Nature Reserve is considered to be the largest dipterocarp forest in the island of Singapore. Nature Reserve refers to a tract of land managed to preserve its flora and fauna and physical features. While the species of this type of forest are mainly from Southeast Asia of Dipterocarpaceae family, genus Dipterocarpus which consists of tall hardwood tropical trees with 2-winged fruits. Dipterocarps are mainly source of good quality timber, resins and aromatic oils. Bukit Timah Nature Reserve declared as Asean Heritage Park on 18 October 2011.

photo from Kae Yuan1

Fellow Trekkers in this journey of life as Kae puts it…🙂photo from Devane Sharma1

Thank you to my friends who’s keeping me posted for any outdoor activities… Wani & Bessy whom I met in my first SG CS Meet Up :-D photo grabbed from Kae Yuan1

And I wish to share the post below from Kae Yuan whom I resonated my senti-moment😉 when we were suddenly drenched by heavy rain on the way up.

21 Apr | When it rains, it pours.

Idiom: When something good or bad occurs, it usually occurs more than once and often within a short period of time.

 —

Got caught under the a giant nimbus cloud during the hike up to the summit today. All of us were drenched to the core, such that any further wetness didn’t really bother us anymore. My shoes were more water than feet! Kinda missed walking/dancing in the rain.

In times like these, the rain tree (I think) overlooking the quarry will shed it golden leaves. It’s romantic like that.

Wanted to remember that moment so here it is.

_ _ _

I wish to acknowledge my fellow travelers for the photos provided by them:- Kae Yuan, Rosa Haswani & Devane Sharma🙂

Leave a Reply

