Singapore Off The Beaten Path: A Walk to Labrador Park

Popularly known as ‘Labrador Park’ or ‘Labrador Nature Reserve’ comprises a 10-hectare coastal secondary vegetation with rocky shore, is located at the southern part of the main island of Singapore. It was gazetted as a Nature Reserve on 01 January 2002. Nature Reserve, means a protected area which is being managed to conserve its flora and fauna.

It was one of those weekends where my friends and ex-colleagues Kay Kay, Baby Rose and Dexter decided to spontaneously meet up to unwind and just update each other after not seeing for years. It was a perfect coastal walk after taking a late heavy lunch – feasting ourselves with some Burmese cuisine.

This is what will welcome you as you begin your journey into Labrador Park. Those environmental enthusiasts, interested in the natural resources conservation or anybody who is in the Research and Development category or just plain people without any specific title but has a soft spot for Mother Earth  – this is the place to go😉.

I admit, I was surprise when I see this Mangrove! It’s a type of forest where trees and shrubs grow in a saline coastal habitats of the tropics and subtropics. In Singapore, mangrove comprises 13% of the original forest area. That’s what I read in the NUS guidebook.

Just to share a little bit about the importance of mangrove swamps. It protects our coastal areas from erosion. Especially during the occurrence of  natural calamities like tsunami or hurricane. I have to concur that Singapore must be very lucky for this little red dot in Southeast Asia is free from any occurrence of natural calamities. I personally believe, that reason alone should stand to be grateful. Isn’t it?🙂

As we walk towards the Labrador Park, I look back. At the backdrop is the Port Singapore Authority (PSA).

I have to admit that I could not remember the local names or even common names of these plant species. But I can guarantee that they are from family Rhizophoraceae, kingdom Plantae. I just realized our memory is selective😉.

There is a Malayan water monitor (Veranus salvator) in the branch of the tree. Not visible in the photo though as the color blends with the branch.

As seen in the backdrop (above photo) is the Promenade. While the photo below, at the backdrop is the Southeast Asia’s first movie theme park – the Universal Studios Singapore (USS).

People often look at us with questions in their eyes – yes we put “tanaka” on our face😀. This is the Burmese way of maintaining their natural beauty😉. It’s a actually a powder from wood called tanaka.

During World War II, Labrador Park played a significant role in the history of Singapore. At the highest point of this Nature Reserve is a tunnel that was used by the British Army during the Japanese occupation in Singapore between 1942 – 1945.

This reddish-brown texture of soil  or fine sandy clay loams occur on low rises and hills. Presence of basalt stones and boulders may appear at the surface.  I hope my memory served me right (as far my geology class is concerned ;-)).

The very visible rocky shore. When low tide, this can get as dry as this.

They say it’s a place where you can watch beautiful sunset. I have had watched many sunsets in different places so I will leave it up to you. I find this satisfactory though.

We saw few people go fishing.

And a few tourists. Most of them are actually concentrated at the opposite island, that is – Sentosa.

At the end of the trail is this. The HarbourFront. Back to city life.

How we made our way going here: We took the MRT Circle Line (yellow line) and alight at Labrador Park station. It is only 2 stops away from the HarbourFront station (purple line).

I just realize no matter how much we forget we would remember something when we go to a place that resembles what we had in the past – that is stock knowledge I think ;-)). I hope you enjoy this post. And find some informative stuff😀

Leave a Reply

