Memories of Zurich

Switzerland is a small, steep country, much more up and down than sideways, and is all stuck over with large brown hotels built on the cuckoo clock style of architecture. -Ernest Hemingway

I consider Switzerland as my gateway to Europe. This is the first European country I had visited and in many ways the experience always felt like surreal. It was summer but the temperature can drop from 16-18 degrees centigrade in late afternoon. There are days that I have to wear a winter wool clothing to warm me up. I often catch people staring at me. Maybe they think, what a weird woman! Yeah I am not acclimatize to that kind of weather. I’m so used to the 2-season from the tropics. In fact last spring, when I was in France, I got fever for 2 days because I happen to experience 11 degrees, it was raining and very windy, I was shivering all over – I feel like I am dying! Aside from the climate, the surroundings, the culture, the people, their way of life really amuse me. Language barrier can be a constraint but if you are fond of learning a foreign language, it would be a lot of fun. I took up basic German course but unfortunately, the practical application was very minimal as the formal German to Swiss German has a lot of variations in my opinion. I’ve written some words/ phrases I could remember towards the end. Meanwhile, here are the photos in black and white!😀

Grossmuenster church

Gruezi!😀 (a Swiss German for Hello :-))

Limmat River

Cruising in the Lake of Zurich is a worthwhile activity as this enables you to see its well-preserved medieval architecture, old churches, museums and the impressive view of the city.

This is quite a common sight during summer, people taking advantage of the sun😀.

I was tempted to capture the expression of passengers😀 during a day trip from the border of Italy back to Zurich.

At the Zurich central station.

I was surprise to see products from the Philippines!😀 These bags are made up of recycled plastic from popular juice drinks. I learned that Rita (in photo), a Social Worker is supporting an NGO (Non-Government Organization) from developing countries like Philippines by importing products made up of recycled materials.

Here are the very few Swiss German phrases I remember:-

Gruezi – means Hello!

Guten Tag – means Good morning!

Danke schoen – means Thank you!

Tschuess – means Bye!

How about you?😀 Can you share some words/ phrases in Swiss German? Oh by the way, Switzerland has 3 official languages: French, German and Italian. The city of Zurich is a German speaking region.

10 thoughts on “Memories of Zurich

      • #.maftravelgraphy
        Yes it’s a mix between german and french – Switzerland has the 3 main languages​​, german, french and italian – there are many interconnections between the 3 languages ​​in Switzerland – a wonderful country to visit – also because of all the languages ​​- plus most also they speak English too…😉

      • I totally agree. Aside from your breathtaking landscapes, Switzerland is one of the cleanest place I have ever seen. Warm people! Very impressive! And totally expensive too! ;-D Danke Ledrake!😀

  1. #.maftravelgraphy – 11072012.0925
    Yes Switzerland sure is expensive, but still wonderful to visting – especially I like the area around Montreux – which is lovely located between Lake Geneva and the mountains behind …😉

    From there one can take a quick trip to Gstaad – and feel like a star for a day too – among all the celebrities – nice to see that they are human beings too – and hear that they also talk about that it is expensive but wonderful…😉

    • Thank you for sharing those info Ledrake. You know your place so well😉. I had not been to the French speaking region but I had the chance to see Lugano and other places in the south which is Italian speaking🙂. I would include what you’ve mentioned in my future itinerary ;-))

  2. Haha! Funny that Switzerland was also the first European country I set foot in! “Hallo, Sprechen Sie English?” had been really useful for me. Aw, I dream of coming back to that place in the future (even if cheese and chocolates were the only cheap stuff I managed to find). People were nice! And the views were breathtaking.

Leave a Reply

