Singapore Off The Beaten Path: Cycle from East Coast to Changi Coast

A Letter of Thanks To My Readers/ Followers

Dear Friends,

I just notice that I have 24 followers. Probably you don’t know how it makes me happy. For someone like me who is an apprentice in the blogging world and has no idea about its in and outs, learning that my little blog can reach an average of 12 countries in a day is a joy to me.ย It means a lot to me. It inspires me. It push me to blog as much as I can. Yes, 24 is such a very small number compared to those who have thousand followers but I believe in Confucius that “a journey of a thousand miles begin with a single step.” So, let’s continue the journey until we reach and exceed a thousand miles๐Ÿ˜€. Thank you all for your support and to those who chance upon my blog where google led them here. My sincere gratitude goes to you. It fuels me to continue blogging.

And by the way, I apologize for not being able to write anything for the past 2 weeks! I am extremely busy juggling with work, studies and a few extra curricular activities. There are so many things going on in my life… I’ve faced a lot of challenges that made me slow down a bit. As you can see, in the previous posts, I have 2 consecutive captured scene. In media, they have this term called “fillers”. In this case, my 2 previous posts are fillers as it is easier to do and less laborious๐Ÿ™‚. I will try my best to catch up and try to share more informative posts in the coming days/ weeks. As I am so looking forward for an exciting journeys ahead. It’s happening soon!๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€.

Happy travels,

Mafey

My Top 5 List for Singapore Off the beaten path

This post is intended especially to those who tries to skip visiting Singapore because they think its only about tall buildings and skycrapers. Popularly known as the “Little Red Dot”, Singapore has a total land area of 704 square kilometers or 270 square miles.

In this series of post, you will see the other side of Singapore. If you are a tourist visiting Singapore for the first time, an environmental enthusiast who simply longs a communion with nature, or someone who is easily stressed out by the hustle and bustle of a city life, I invite you to try any one of these:

1. Cycle from East Coast to Changi Coast.

2. A walk to Labrador Park.

3. Visit to Pulau Ubin.

4. Hike to MacRitchie Reservoir Park.

5. Trek to Bukit Timah Nature Reserve.

Details of these will be expound in the succeeding posts. Meanwhile, let’s proceed to the post for today.

Cycle from East Coast to Changi Coast: An Alternative to City Skycrapers

It was those Saturdays that I’m off from work where I had the luxury of time to try out something new. I like to challenge myself doing the things I have not done before, take it as part of my adventurous nature. My initial plan was just to cycle along the coastal of East Coast. But the weather was so tempting, it was a sunny day so I spontaneously decide to try the 21 kilometres route from East Coast to Changi Beach Coast. I have no idea how will it go. I have no map with me. I intend to follow other cyclists and just go with my intuition. I got lost 2 times where I ended up in a forested area and there was no way but to go back. I continued cycling and when I thought I am almost reaching the place, my bicycle tyre explode just at the opposite of Changi Airport. What an unfortunate incident! And there was no nearby bicycle shop in sight so I have to push my bicycle and I have no choice but to walk. Someone suggested that I take taxi to bring it home. Funny thing I did not have any cash with me. So I am clueless what to do hehe. But I was in my best mood. The scenery is beautiful. I like the fact that no matter how small Singapore, there is always something new to discover.

Until I finally reach the Changi beach coast after pushing my bicycle, was it 25-30 minutes, under the hot scorching sun. The uncle at the bicycle shop was very helpful to change the tyre of my bicycle, problem is, he has no small tyre that suits my bicycle, the only available tyre he has are those for mountain bikes. I was determined to leave the bicycle and just get it when I have the time. But there was a good samaritan who saw me, greeted and strike a conversation (a fellow pinoy). He offers help and carry my bicycle and send me to the nearest bus stop. Luckily, I had my EZ link card with me, it saved me from not having cash!

Here are some of the photos I took during the coastal exploration. I only use a smart phone (Galaxy SII) capturing the view. Enjoy the photos!

For those who have been to Singapore, are living in Singapore, feel free to share your off-the-beaten path experience๐Ÿ˜€ Until then! Thanks for stopping by!

18 thoughts on “Singapore Off The Beaten Path: Cycle from East Coast to Changi Coast

  1. All the best in your travels. Be safe! Have fun! Love your photos. Have a wonderful day. ๐Ÿ™‚ Renee

    • Hi Gaye,
      First, thanks for dropping by!๐Ÿ™‚
      The scenery in the upper east coast going to Changi is more beautiful compared to the lower east coast going to the city. I think your sister will like it.
      Thanks again. I really appreciate your visit!๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

