Impressions of Sagrada Familia (Barcelona, Spain)

An artist never really finishes his work, he merely abandons it. -Paul Valery

Visiting Spain is sort of like a last minute decision. No, it’s not that I don’t want to visit Spain. It is in my bucket list in fact. I thought if I will visit it, it would be Spain and Portugal. My original itinerary was visiting France, Belgium and Netherlands. Geographically speaking, that is more logical. But when I found out that taking train is more expensive going to Belgium and Netherlands, as an alternative, I opted booking to Spain. And yes, taking plane is way cheaper than train when I compared fares. I don’t know why. I’m just glad I did. Aside from I got an invitation from a friend I met in Malaysia. From which after a year, we met in Singapore and then the succeeding year, we met in Spain. Isn’t that great? Human connection always fascinates me. It is always the people that I encounter in all of my travels that make a difference. I can perhaps see the most beautiful architecture but it would mean nothing to me if not for the people I met. To me, it is always, ALWAYS the people that makes a difference and turns one’s journey extra exciting.

Shall I confess, that I almost missed my flight (AGAIN!). The plane is about to take off in 20 minutes time when I arrived at Paris Beauvais airport. Thank God, I don’t have any luggage to check-in and the people at the counter was extra kind to help me out! I didn’t know that Paris Beauvais airport was too far from Paris city. Took me an hour I guess to reach the airport, the bus leaves a little later than the scheduled time. And there was a little traffic along the way. What I mean, actually is, it all boils down on me. Funny, how I find myself looking for external sources of reasons to blame my tardiness, when it should be my own self, I should look into myself in the first place. You get the picture, I’m not good in time. And whether you would believe me or not; I’m really trying hard to do my best to become good at it, if not better. This could have saved some past meaningful relationships. Perhaps.

Tan and Albert was waving their hands with wide smiles waiting for me when I arrived. Thanks Ryan Air, I’ve made it to Spain! And yeah, there are no immigration people to entertain you (^^), I mean to pass through when visiting other Schengen countries. So it was a very smooth, slightly intense, enjoyable travel🙂.

***

Whatever Paul meant by the above quote, it just made me giggle. It’s not that Gaudi abandoned Sagrada Familia, he died in 1926 and only a quarter of his project was completed. Up to this date the restoration of Sagrada Familia continues and it is expected to complete in 2026! To commemorate the centennial death of Antoni Gaudi.

Sagrada Familia, according to Paul Goldberger is “the most extraordinary personal interpretation of Gothic architecture since the Middle Ages”. Although, not complete yet, it is one of the UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Sagrada Familia as Antoni Gaudi’s master piece…

…but no he was not the original Architect, it’s Francisco de Paula del Villar. When Villar retired from the project, Gaudi assumed responsibility of the design which he changed radically…

I am elated (though I look serious ^^) to celebrate  my pre-birthday here seeing Antoni Gaudi’s master piece =).

Hope you enjoy viewing some of Sagrada Familia maftravelgraphy snapshots!😀

Note:- Perhaps this is my last post for April. As I will fly (again) tonight to Brunei en-route to KL and then Kota Kinabalu. I will resume sharing maftravelgraphy tales in May🙂. Thanks for being here!

8 thoughts on “Impressions of Sagrada Familia (Barcelona, Spain)

  1. I’ve always wanted to see this in real life. I love his dedication though to his work and his principles. nice photos.

  2. Spain definitely is a place that I will visit soon. Parang going back to the motherland siguro ang feeling for us Pinoys. Then again maybe not hehe!

    Sige na Mafey, ikaw na ang traveler. Enjoy Brunei and Malaysia! Nice to see you’ve been updating =)

    • Hi Drew, hehe, I’m about to message you na nga sa fb. I’m still editing this kasi may mga errors pero nagulat ako may nagko-comment na kagad parang ambilis =). Honestly, na-inspire nyo ko ni Gael. We were exchanging messages yesterday, I have no idea yet where to stay and what to do to my next stop hehe. And Gael was so fast to reply. Alam mo naman ako nagti-teki tekihan lang hehe.

      I think I will update my info later and include my blog na. I’m slowly gaining confidence in blogging. And I love the process. THANKS Drew for the constant encouragement!

      And yeah, you will love Spain! It’s for you to find out! I was a few times mistaken as from South America =)

  3. Hi Mafs, ngayon lang me nagkaroon ng time to visit your site. Advance Happy B-day tomorrow! Wow naman kung saan-saan ka na nakakarating! I’m so proud of you. You have d courage & guts to travel in diff. places despite of some unavoidable circumstances that you’ve encountered. Hope you enjoy travelling in your next itinerary without any hassle. May God send you a “Prince Charming” whom you can spend the rest of your life. More blessings 2 come & God bless…❤

    • Tita Cors! Thank you for visiting again! I am who I am now because of our family and I will always be grateful of my roots wherever I may go. Thanks for your kind words and wishes! =)

Leave a Reply

