The Enchanting Isla de Cabra

The ruined Light House in Isla de Cabra

The ruined Spanish Lighthouse in Isla de Cabra. Photo credits to Ms Lourdes Berin

You arrive at a village, and in this calm environment, one starts to hear echo. – Yannick Noah

Has anyone heard about Isla de Cabra?

Perhaps in each one of us there is something special we hold dearly in our heart. I long to write something about this special place. But truth be told, I can’t recall the figure, I only remember memories and how it made me feel. I consulted my Lonely Planet book only to feel lonely and slightly disappointed because the place I am looking for was not there.

I then decided to search the google engine, “where exactly is Isla de Cabra?” It all boils down in here: Puerto Rico! No. I am looking for Isla de Cabra in the Philippines. But there was no further luck. Perhaps because this little island is undeveloped yet and not that very accessible for people coming from the city? I understand these does not sound enough justification but I could not get further information. Except that Isla de Cabra is located about 75km from Manila. It is a barangay island of Lubang Island, a group of Islands in Occidental Mindoro, Philippines.

Isla de Cabra is known for its Lighthouse which was built by the Spaniards in 1889 to mark the passage from South China Sea to the Verde passage through the center of the Philippines archipelago. Lighthouse is meant to guide navigators and warm them about various hazards and for safe entries to harbors.

What’s interesting to know that partly answered my enchantment is that Isla de Cabra literally means “Goat Island”. But in this case, in this Isla de Cabra there are rather more cows🙂. I was factually amazed to be in an island in the Philippines and see more cows than humans! I thought, wow it’s cool, it’s amazing! Considering the fast growing population of my country, 93 M plus.

Herewith are some photos of Isla de Cabra:

Probably a couple cow ;)

Probably a couple cow😉

The sight of pristine Isla de Cabra...

The sight of pristine Isla de Cabra...

Isla de Cabra on a closer look

Isla de Cabra on a closer look

A somewhat artistic rock formation

A somewhat artistic rock formation

While the boat anchored and we walk passed the jetty...cows were the first creatures we've seen

When the boat anchored and we walk passed the jetty... cows were the first creatures we've seen

A sight of a farm: a farmer, a carabao, the farmer's best friend to plowing the land

A sight of a farm: a farmer & the farmer's best friend in plowing the land, a carabao

There's a part that looked like a deserted land

There's a part that looked like a deserted land

A peaceful village that is, as if time stood still

A peaceful village that is, as if time stood still

Seriously, I've seen more more cows than human in this enchanting island

Seriously, I've seen more cows than human in this enchanting island

The only jeepney in the barangay island that ferry residents

The only jeepney in the barangay island that ferry residents

The ruined Light House in Isla de Cabra

The ruined Spanish Lighthouse in Isla de Cabra

The sun is about to kiss the ocean as we left this enchanting island

The sun was about to kiss the ocean when we left this enchanting island

As I whispered goodbye, I felt something inside of me. I was taken aback… I was enchanted… There was some kind of connection I had established with this little island. The experience has etched in my memory. It reminds me that life can really be pretty simple.

It keeps me grounded.

Leave a Reply

