Thoughts about Cambodia

captivating Angkor Wat

Angkor Wat is Cambodia’s premier attraction for tourists. The temple at the backdrop played a significant religious centre for foundation of “Hindu” dedicated to god Vishnu. Eventually it moved to “Buddhist” in the 13th century.

A brief info about the country

Phnom Penh is the capital of Cambodia. It is located in Southeast Asia. The Kingdom of Cambodia is under constitutional monarchy. It is said that successive Kings of Khmer Empire once dominated Southeast Asia for around 600 years during 802 AD. The country was colonized then by French in mid-19th century. It got its independence in 1953. However, the war in Vietnam gives rise to the emergence of Khmer Rouge. Rouge is a French term which means “red” and this symbolizes “communism” while Khmer refers to Cambodians. Khmer Rouge was led by the name of Pol Pot who was notable in history for mass killings. He tried to rebuild the country and destroyed anything related to Western influences. Millions of people were died of starving, diseases and executions under his regime.

pol pot history of genocide

A visit to the Killing Fields... Pol Pot history of genocide... cruelty, everything here is cruelty...

Siem Reap is the capital city of Siem Reap province in the northwest part of Cambodia. It is the gateway to one of the most famous archaeological sites in Southeast Asia, the temple of Angkor Wat.

feeling turista!

I apologize I’ll be present in almost all of the photos here. It saddens me when I learned that my Cambodia files were deleted when my laptop was reformatted. Luckily I had this very few selected photos that was saved at my email.

From Phnom Penh to Siem Reap, it could be reach by bus for 6 hours trip. Somewhat equidistant if you will travel to Ho Chi Minh (Vietnam) from Phnom Penh. Which I found myself would be doing later. Just seeing the sign of Saigon from a terminal bus in Phnom Penh. A very spontaneous decision I would say. And another story🙂.

A sojourn for personal reason

Visiting Cambodia has been like an inner and outer journey rolled into one. I’ve met many good souls there… Physically, it was a great trip. Though I remembered lucidly how my spirit was in chaos at that time. I was not well, emotionally. I admit, I traveled because I need some abrupt change of environment. I need a place where I can breathe, where I can have a break from my monotonous routine. I need to see myself not as a participant… I need to detach myself from excruciating struggles I am facing at that point in time. Even just for a little while. With high hopes that things will get better eventually.

with cati at cambodia

A visit to Musee de Cambodge. I am grateful to be reunited with Cati, a friend previously teaching in Singapore but chose to be based in Cambodia.

I celebrated my birthday at Angkor Wat, Siem Reap. A good friend, Jun came with me. I had the chance to meet the Cabrera sisters’ parents. We had a great time rolling around. It was a great day celebrated together with other new found friends. I did not expect that this birthday will be an inception of many future birthdays to be celebrated in different places.

eat all you can resto

I owe this teacher (with the sunglasses on the head) a lot for providing everything we need from the accommodation, places to go and see, for fetching us upon arrival to Siem Reap from Phnom Penh, free dinner and this buffet lunch. What more can you ask for your birthday? I owe you an apology Ma’am for I could not recall your name. My sincere apologies but I will never forget what you have done to us all. Thank you!

elephants!

A view from the south gate entrance of Angkor Wat

Winding up

I have no idea how this trip has helped me feel a lot better on my way back to a place I barely called home.

260409 bestday!

Apparently I could not get much of Angkor Wat or rather because these are all the photos that's left for me. Another interesting place that I liked is where Angelina Jolie's Tomb Rider was shoot. Pity that I have no photos to show. Next time!🙂

Given a chance I look forward to returning once more to this ancient spot and stay a little bit longer at Angkor Wat. I wish to see the entire place just by bicycle and try to catch a beautiful sunset! And perhaps a visit to beach of Sihanoukville and reunite with friends will complete the adventure.

Some more photos

Since my Cambodia photos were gone to extinction allow me to share all the other photos that were saved so it’ll be preserved in this bank of memoirs.

2 thoughts on “Thoughts about Cambodia

    • Thanks for dropping by Drew! Since you have the time and the means, aba’y GO! bago ka pa bumalik sa ‘yong tahanan sa Hilagang Amerika🙂.

      Let me thank you for all the help you have extended in putting up this blog. I hope I could blog regularly in 2012🙂. All the best for your trippings in the coming new year!🙂

Leave a Reply

